Skip to content ↓

Religious Studies

Key Stage 3 Curriculum Content

At Key Stage 3 we follow the Sheffield SACRE Locally Agreed Syllabus (2019 version).

Year 7

Students are introduced to various religions in Year 7 to form a foundation on which we can build themes and topics in later years. The Year 7 curriculum invites students to investigate the religious populations in Sheffield and assess the impact that has on the city. They later discuss the philosophy behind beliefs in God leading to a study on the portrayal of God in the Old Testament.

All 6 major world religions are covered through thematic learning across the year.

Year 8

In Year 8 we build on the work completed in Year 7 and complete our learning of religions. We start the year with a philosophical inquiry into what a perfect world is and whether Sheffield could be classed as perfect. This unit invites students to investigate moral philosophical principles. The year is completed with three religions being studied in depth – Christianity, Islam and Buddhism. These religions reflect the religious population of Sheffield and Forge Valley. Within each religion students will learn:

  • Beliefs about God/a god
  • Important people
  • Places of worship
  • Rules
  • Festivals
  • Beliefs about the afterlife.
Year 9

Students begin the GCSE curriculum. All students at Forge Valley undertake a full course GCSE Religious Studies that is examined at the end of Year 11.

Key Stage 4 Curriculum Content

Forge Valley follow the AQA Specification A. The GCSE course is examined at the end of Year 11. There are two papers comprising of:

Paper 1 – Christianity and Buddhism
  • Key beliefs in the religion
  • Practices involved in worship.
Paper 2 – Thematic studies
  • Matters of life and death
  • War and peace
  • Human Rights
  • Crime and punishment.