Skip to content ↓

Information Technology

Key Stage 3 Curriculum Content

Year 7

Students will study:

  • Basic ICT skills and Online Safety
  • Computer Science Theory (hardware, software and representation of data)
  • Algorithms
  • Coding Skills – Scratch, Small Basic.
Year 8

Students will study:

  • HTML and WebPlus (web design)
  • Gamemaker – Game creation software
  • Ciphering, cyber security
  • Graphics – DrawPlus, image manipulation.
Year 9

Students will begin their Key Stage 4 qualification in OCR Creative iMedia,

In Year 9 they will do two out of the four units:

  • Completing R082 (graphics)  
  • Preparing for their R081 exam, learning the theory of pre-production documents, legislation, file formats, health and safety etc – ready to sit the exam in Year 10.

Key Stage 4 Curriculum Content - Core ICT

For CORE ICT, students study Creative iMedia (OCR) in Y10 and CIDA (Edexcel) in Y11

Year 10 - IMedia

In Year 10 students will sit their exam (preproduction documents). Students will also complete R082 by the end of the year (Graphics) where they will plan/create a graphic publication.

Year 11 - CIDA

Students will take one onscreen exam where they will develop online web products with related graphics. 

Students will complete one piece of coursework - developing graphic products.

Key Stage 4 Curriculum Content - Computer Science

As an option, students may choose to study Computer Science (WJEC Eduqas)

Students will complete 3 units:

  • Understanding Computer Science (theory exam)
  • Computational Thinking and Programming (on screen exam – including Greenfoot programming)
  • Software Development (NEA task)